Why I Run


I almost did not run tonight.  Let’s face the facts:  January, below freezing, windy, snow on the ground.  I mustered energy to go to the yoga studio, but the class was full (must everyone make new year’s resolutions?)  Given those circumstances that meant a run was a must for the evening.  Once I was able to get a move-on, the warm confines of the gym made it all ok.   I had not run since Saturday and a four-mile run on the treadmill sounded like the perfect Wednesday night activity.  As I was driving home I was pondering what to write about and I decided why I run to be the topic of the evening.  

Funny how when I was growing up my soccer team groaned when we had to run a mile, extra laps around the field, suicides or hill sprints…why was it that our punishment for a bad practice always ended in running more?  Thankfully, I no longer sigh when it’s time to go for a run but instead crave lacing up my sneakers. Even sprints or hills are actually kind of fun when I’m up for the challenge and it’s probably because no one is telling me I have to do them.  Let’s just say my love for running has matured like a fine wine.  

Runners run for a variety of reasons, all of which I have to agree are reasons that I do so too–health, keep trim, extra energy, time to think, time to socialize–but the real beauty about running is that it can be done anywhere, any day, any time.  It’s the simplest sport to break into because the only things you really need are a good pair of running shoes, clothes that you are comfortable in moving in and the motivation to get out there and go.  If you can walk you can run, it’s as simple as that.   

Running is the one true activity that brings me a sense of calm and energy all mixed together.  It’s my most bang for the buck workout.  And let’s just say the endorphins are amazing–you really miss them when you cut back (I’ll remember to blog about that on another day).  I sleep better when I’m in a good running routine and am more productive in other tasks throughout the day.  On any given day I go out to run it can be for a different purpose.  Sometimes I want to challenge myself (race day especially), other runs are simply to get some fresh air in my lungs and enjoy my surroundings, some days I just want to zone out with the music, or use it as time to catch up with fellow runner friends. 

So why do I run?  It makes me happy.  And I don’t see that changing any time soon.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

