10 Weeks


My post title sounds a little like a pregnancy blog, but no, tomorrow is exactly 10 weeks until the National 1/2 Marathon.  I’ve had two months of being training-free so now it’s time to get back into a routine.  Good news is that I have not been a complete slug during that time…still managed to do a December race (10K) and I’ve been working on my strengthening/lengthening through weights, yoga, and stretching.

Many first-time racers ask, well where do I start to create a running schedule.  I asked this same question at one time.  The internet is a great resource, but also can be overwhelming.  Hal Higdon’s Web site is a good start as he has a lot of schedules for runners of all different types–from the beginner to the advanced–and for different race distances, too (http://www.halhigdon.com/halfmarathon/).  Runner’s World magazine and blog will sometimes provide suggestions for schedules as will numerous other well-known runners who have turned their talent into a business.  Jeff Galloway, for example, has helped many, many first-time marathoners train with his Run-Walk-Run method of training.  For my races of 1/2 marathon distance and up, I have created my own hybrid schedule and tweak along the way depending on what my body is telling me it needs.  It’s worked well so far.  The main thing I make sure I don’t mess with are the distances for long runs on the weekend.  As long as you are getting the distance in you will be certain, at the very least, to finish the race.  The week day workouts/runs are there for maintenance, rest and speed work.  For me, it’s the speed work that is going to be my toughest to stick with but if I want to get fast that is what needs to get done!

I’ll work on posting a schedule online once I have it developed to help others who may need a place to begin!  Happy planning!

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

