Back to the Training Board


Today was the first day of my ten-week training leading to the National 1/2 Marathon.  I bundled up in my cold weather gear to run 4 miles.  After deciding I would go out fast, I remembered that I live in a neighborhood filled with hills (some subtle, some super annoying).  About halfway through the run I was a bit winded and towards the end I got a side stitch.  I worked through it but could tell that my lung capacity has dropped a little since I have not been running as much since October.  But that’s ok because 13.1 miles is not as daunting as 26.2 and I plan to switch my training up a bit this round to give me a new outlook on my running routine.

As I’ve noted in other posts, I want to work on my posture and strength so on my cross train/strength train days (see the new page training schedules) I plan to do more yoga and pilates classes which will help lead to a stronger core.  Core muscles–those that stabilize the shoulders, spine and pelvis–help correct postural imbalances and build an excellent foundation for the lower extremities.  A little time dedicated to the core is a huge benefit for a runner’s movement because the legs are better supported.  There are lots of exercises, both using weights like dumbbells, kettle balls, medicine balls, and stability balls, or by using your own body weight.  Some exercises I recommend include: push ups, squats, seated oblique twist with a medicine ball, hip lifts, etc. The nice thing is that you can do these at home or the gym.  A quick online search showed me some others that I plan to try including: plank abdominal exercise, lunge with twists and alternating Super Man. 

When my workouts include working the core I feel healthier and stronger.  Just running is not going to change your body for life, but working your core will help ensure you keep moving even during the latter years in life.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

