Solo vs. Buddy Runs


There are many benefits to both running alone and with others.  If you are just getting into running, you might ask yourself which is best for me?  Personally, I like both and which I decide to do depends largely on my mood and goals of the day.  So here is my list of benefits for both sides.  You may have more of your own to add.

Running Solo:

  • I pick and choose the run:  when I want, where I want.
  • Time to get lost in my thoughts, work out a problem in my head or zone out from the chaotic world around me. 
  • Opportunity to personally challenge myself when no one else is watching–it’s also good practice for race day when you most likely will not have your running buddy beside you.
  • Go at my own pace–sometimes I don’t want to worry about the speed at which I am running which might be a factor with others who are slower or faster than me.
  • Personal self-fulfillment when I finish that first race all on my own.

Running with a Buddy:

  • I learned how to carry on a conversation while I run which is cool once I mastered not getting winded. 
  • Accountable to someone else = more motivation on the cold, winter mornings; hot summer days; and long training runs.  Easy to bail on yourself but not on a friend. 
  • Safety in numbers.
  • Built-in cheerleader to help when I am ready to quit the run. 
  • Opportunity to stretch my limits by running with a faster person.
  • Opportunity to help a slower person improve their times.
  • Social hour!
  • Save money–Just think, choosing to go for a jog with a friend twice a week instead of going out to dinner with her saves me $20-$40 or more very easily. 

The beauty of running is that, in many ways, it can be viewed as both a solo and team sport.  I think you’ll see that there are benefits in going both directions and taking the opportunity to do some runs alone and others with running partners.  Have fun and appreciate each way of enjoying the sport.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Solo vs. Buddy Runs

  1. Jacqueline says:

    The versatility of running is what makes it the perfect sport!

    New follower here 🙂

Leave a Reply

