Healthy Living Day by Day


I’ve been reading a supplement that I received from Runner’s World called 10 Reports.  One entitled “Effective Weight Loss” caught my eye so I read on.   The report outlines little things that we can do each day to improve our health and shape.  Here are some of my favorites which I am pleased to say I do most of the time:

Get milk–yes!  I am accomplishing that one with my gallon that I drink in two weeks. (My frame puts me at risk for osteoporosis so I’m very mindful of getting a lot of calcium in my body.  I’ve read that it’s most critical to get a good calcium supply to the bones before the age of 30. Yikes! Lifting weights and running are also great for preventing osteoporosis. ) 

Eat more fruits and veggies–I especially love fruit and have started to put some in a basket on my desk at work, which ironically enough is what the report recommends.  The goal is to finish that fruit by the end of the work day because if you see something in front of you, you are more likely to eat it.  That means I also should remove my candy bowl.

Exchange coffee for green tea–Last week I drank a lot of green tea because it made my sore throat feel better, but it is true that green tea has polyphenols, compounds that help increase caloric burning, in addition to a lot of other antioxidants.

Eat a mid-morning and mid-afternoon snack–runners, especially need to stay fueled throughout the day and the article notes that it is never wise to let yourself go hungry.  I am the queen of snacking–some of my favorites include almonds with dried fruit like cranberries and raisins, a piece of fruit, cheese and crackers, and peanut butter on a piece of raisin bread or on a banana, apple, or carrots.  Smoothies are also a great post-run snack or here’s a hint make one and take it in with you to work for your mid-morning snack.

Pack your lunch–I strive to do this most days to save money, but the report also notes that on average you will consume 300 calories/day more eating out six times a week than someone who packs their own lunch. 

Go to bed early and rise early–I prefer to be in bed by 10:30 and up early to get a workout in or just ease into my morning.  Plus going to bed later usually means I’ll want to snack more, plus I’m grouchy if I don’t get close to 8 hours of sleep each night.

There are a lot of other useful tips that we don’t think about (take the stairs over the elevator, walk to work rather than taking a shuttle or driving in all the way, get up from your desk to walk down the hall to say something to a coworker rather than emailing him).  Little things can make a big difference over time and making them a habit is the easiest way to set a new way of living.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

