Commuting Home


Who enjoys sitting in traffic or dealing with crowded metro cars and long bus lines?  Anyone…anyone?  Nope, me neither so that’s where an alternative solution fits in to the picture.  Today my friend and I decided to literally run home from D.C. to Virginia.  To people not from the area that may sound far but Northern Virginia literally bumps right up to the District with that thing called the Potomac River sitting in the middle.  Finding the best route to take is the tricky part because you have to know where the trails and streets connect.  If not, you could easily be doubling your mileage and calling for a friend to pick you up before you reach your destination. 

So technically my training plan does not call for a longish run tonight but my legs were feeling good.  My sprint workout on the treadmill last night got cut short by a circuit outage for a row of treadmills, so I had to move on to the elliptical/stair stepper machine instead.  So tonight after bundling up (it was 33 degrees when I left the office) it was time to take off.

Surprisingly after about a half mile into the run my body was feeling fairly warm thanks in part to my Under Armour winter long sleeve mock turtleneck, my warm running pants, scarf, headband, hat, and gloves.  And when you are running with someone the conversation takes your mind off how cold it actually is around you.  Close to the halfway point it began to flurry a bit and I think the temperature must have dropped.  By the time we reached the end of our almost seven mile run and began walking the last half mile or so my body was trying to cool itself.  But this process in the cold weather basically just makes you that much colder.  Despite wearing gloves I could barely open the door to my home; it took a bit of jostling the key and trying to find a way to get my frozen fingers to turn the key in just the right direction.  A hot shower felt great and now I am happy relaxing on my couch watching college basketball.  Life is good and running helps make it so.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

