High Knees, Butt Kicks and Sprints…Oh My!


So running is not always all fun and games.  There are so many times I would much rather plop myself on the couch, eat a bowl of ice cream and watch a movie.  But when you are in training mode that option is not feasible as a replacement to the run.  Due to my mid-week run home last week, I bumped my Saturday run to Sunday.  I was visiting my dad and he said he would go out with me.  Typically he will ride his bike (bad knees limit running these days) while I run on the trail.  Although the temperature was high-40’s (what a wonderful change to the bitter winter we have been having) it was still fairly windy outside so we decided to roll over to the local high school track and run there instead since the sunshine was much more brilliant without any trees blocking its path.  We calculated that 28 times around the track would equal 7 miles.  Hooray!  Doesn’t that sound like so much fun? Of course I’m being sarcastic here.

So we get there and what do you know but it’s completely locked up.  I suggested we hop the fence but we refrained from doing so and instead chose the field hockey field to jog around.  So as Dad walked, I jogged around the field.  Immediately I was thrown back into my high school days of soccer where, as warm-up and sometimes punishment, our team ran laps around the field.  After two or three laps boredom began to set in for me so I decided to do the things our team did in high school.  At the ends of the field, the shorter lengths, I mixed up my routine by alternating between butt kicks, high knees, backward runs, sideways runs, skipping, and sprinting.  At other points I would go over to the mini-set of bleachers and run up and down them.  After about my 20th lap the teenagers playing football on the soccer field near us kept watching me with curiosity each time I passed.  They were probably wondering why someone would choose to do this monotonous run.  Yes, football sounded like more fun to me in that moment too.  With eight more laps to go–I did 30 in all–Dad decided he was done walking and sat on the bleachers watching the rest of my pain.  But it helped because now I had an audience.  It was sort of how you might imagine the Olympic finish with the crowds cheering as the marathoners make there way into the stadium to finish the last legs of the race.  Ok, I can imagine, right!  At last I completed that last lap, raising my arms up high to symbolize victory.

It really was not as bad as it sounds and I actually enjoyed mixing up the routine a little bit.  It was also nice to share some running time with Dad since we do not get to do that very often.   I felt like I was 15 all over again doing my old routine from those days of high school soccer warm-ups.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

