Pick your poison: Warrior Dash, Muddy Buddy or Death Race


Some love roller coasters, others choose to skydive or bungee jump.  I am not one of those people—thrill rides and extreme sports never did it for me.  Instead I choose to run marathons.  Some of my friends think I am crazy for what I do; but I think there are many crazier acts out there than running 26.2 miles.  For many though, accomplishing the marathon or triathlon just means it’s time to move on to a new challenge.  These challenges may involve swimming through mud, jumping through fire or lugging a log with you throughout the forest.  I am referring to the Warrior Dash, Muddy Buddy and Death Race.  The names alone make me think twice about ever entering such ridiculous competitions.  And while these events may not kill you over the long term, they may in fact kill you while you are competing!

I have noticed more and more of these activities cropping up across the country and it makes me laugh.  The Warrior Dash web site, for example, touts the event as the “craziest frickin’ day of your life” where “warriors conquer extreme obstacles on the most challenging and rugged terrain across the globe.”  The “dirt” on the Columbia Muddy Buddy Ride & Run Series includes:  two mud-slinging teammates, one bike, 6-mile trail run and ride, fun obstacles, costume contest and a mud pit crawl.  With a lot of encouraging you might be able to get me to do one of these events because let’s face it, wearing a Viking headpiece is cool, right?  However, I will say NO to the Death Race…NO exceptions.  The Death Race limits the field to 200 entrants (soundly screened to make sure each is capable of handling) and as the website states is “a 24-hour test of extreme physical and psychological stamina.”  No food or water is provided, nor do participants know when the trek will start or when it will end.   The course is a mystery and one might guess it’s more than just swimming through a pit of mud. The Washington Post writer Lenny Bernstein writes the following  in the 2/10/11 article “Maryland man prepares to take on the death race”:

[Participants] had to hack the stumps out of the ground and carry them for most of the 24-hour race. There were countless hours of running, climbing, bushwhacking, log-splitting and lifting. After a 2,000-foot climb, they found a list of the first 10 U.S. presidents, which they had to recite correctly after running back down the mountain. One mistake and they were sent back up again. The following year, some pre-race instructions arrived in Greek.

One thing is certain—anything that makes me sign a waiver that says “You may die” is a sure sign for me not to mess with my own fate.  So I ask what will come next in this extreme era of testing our abilities to the max?  I’m sure we will soon be seeing some reality television shows about these races and the people who choose to partake in doing them.

Check out the sponsors’ web sites if you think you have the guts (and are insane enough) to enter:

http://www.warriordash.com/info.php

http://muddy-buddy.competitor.com/

http://www.youmaydie.com/

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pick your poison: Warrior Dash, Muddy Buddy or Death Race

  1. What about the NC Krispy Kreme Challenge? I believe you have to run a mile, eat a dozen donuts then run a mile back… not a marathon but definitely a challenge…. 🙂 I agree with you on the death race, it is something I dont’ think anyone would ever be able to convince me to do!

  2. Pingback: The Big Hoo Yah! (My First Obstacle Course Race) | mileoneandcounting

Leave a Reply

