Country Run


This morning I completed my 8-mile training run through small town America–that is my hometown in South Jersey.  My mom joined me on the bike and it was great to have company along the way.  After getting through our one stoplight town we trekked through a fairly boring country road. Highlights included two dogs barking (thank goodness for invisible fences), a dead deer carcass (gross!  I quickly did a side-step to the other side of the street), and a dead cat or fox carcass (again I did not look for long).  As we made the turn down a less-busy country road, I saw two little kids playing make-believe having a sword fight with sticks and two barn cats running across the street.  Other than the occasional car driving by, this winter country run was so peaceful.  Without my iPod blaring I listened to the sounds around me–the birds in the woods and the padding of my feet.  Mom would ride ahead and then come back to join me to talk about things that came to mind.  We took a little break by the reservoir to take some pictures and take in winter’s thaw.  I jogged past my elementary school (which looks so small to me now) and then we made our way home another mile passing two more barking dogs. 

In the DC-Northern Virginia area there are so many jogging trails to be discovered and it is there that I am able to find the same kind of peace that I can find just by going to the place I grew up.  Once home Mom and I sat outside on the back dock to relax and stretch after our journey.  Some geese were walking across the frozen lake and then into the unfrozen area to join their ducklings.   The sun was shining down and all was right in that moment.  The day was ours.  

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Country Run

  1. Jan Hoerst says:

    We had fun together.

Leave a Reply

