Let’s Go to the Movies


So I don’t know about you, but sometimes I have trouble with the treadmill.  I get distracted easily and tend to run crooked.  That is not a good thing when you are running on a moving machine.  Luckily I have never actually fallen off a treadmill, but I’ve come close.  I also get bored on these stationary runs, always looking at my time hoping it will go just a little bit faster.  And it does not.  Me and mister treadmill have a love/hate relationship. 

I’d have to think that maybe the cardio cinema–think dark room at the gym with cardio equipment and a movie screen–is my solution to the boredom.  However, I have been reluctant to use the treadmills in this room for fear of being too focused on the big movie screen in front of me.  What if I am so distracted that I misstep and have a disaster?  So yesterday since the gym was still so crowded at 7:30 pm (thanks to all the overachievers who still have not given up their new year’s resolutions) my option was to enter the world of the cardio cinema.  Last night’s movie was Up in the Air and believe it or not it was a good movie to run along to. Not only is George Clooney a very handsome fellow to look at while working out, the scenes help too.  As Clooney goes through the airport in a synchronized, organized, swift fashion I felt my strides begin to quicken.  Then as the plane floats through the air (especially during the opening credits) my legs felt lighter underneath me. 

So moral of the story–I did not fall off the treadmill; instead, I stayed on my feet, kept my speed up and did a strong 4.5 miles.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

