Capitol Hop


For work the past two days I assisted on some Capitol Hill visits with a colleague and believe it or not it was a bit of a workout.  When you are on the seventh floor waiting for an elevator to get to the first floor and it never comes, well the stairs are the next best option.  As we made our way through the tricky layout of the House office buildings we often found ourselves at dead-end parts of the building.  Rooms that were supposed to be in one direction sometimes could not be found and other times the office we thought we were going to had been moved to another part of the building (blame it on congressional transitioning after the elections).  It was fun though–I experienced the tunnels that connect the buildings and for the first time made it across the three House office buildings (and yesterday the Senate buildings) by way of the basement level tunnels that connects them all.  If we went a little further we would have made our way to the U.S. Capitol Building. 

So if anyone says that walking is a cinch try being on your feet pretty much straight through the entire day except when sitting in a meeting with a staffer.  One fifty-minute meeting actually was a bit of a blessing considering many had five or ten minutes to spare with us.  It was a fun experience, not to mention kind of cool when I saw some Members of Congress traipsing through the halls. Imagine how much extra exercise I would get each day if I worked on Capitol Hill bouncing from one office and committee meeting to the next.  But I probably would resort to email and be lazy like most of us tend to be in the digital environment of which we live.  Then again, there is something to be said about good, old-fashioned face-to-face meetings.  Our legs like when we get up from our desk too!

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

