On the Road Again


Finished my 12-miler this afternoon and now as my reward I’m lounging the rest of the day in my sweats watching the ACC basketball game.  Life doesn’t get much better than this.  I am home again so rather than do a country road run I decided to go into the next town so that I would be running less on the streets with little to no shoulder and more through the neighborhoods.  Yet, there is no getting around the fact that I grew up in a rural area because I still saw two dead animals along the way!  Ugh…I hate that so much…but you know even in Northern Virginia I see that during runs (last week it was a dead rat) and my running buddy will tell you that I nearly jumped out of my sneakers! 

Anywho, my trek started on the very outskirts of town, around the beautiful Memorial Lake (where my dad used to take my brother and I as kids to feed the geese), down through the heart of town and then out past town just a little bit.  From there I turned around and ran through a small neighborhood where one of my girlfriends used to live.  Then I made my way into the recreation park.  There is a great running course loop that is a little over a mile.  Running here always brings back a flood of memories.  From that hot summer day that I played my first soccer game (age 7) as goalie and so many more practice sessions and games that followed.  Passing the softball fields I could hear “Put Me in Coach” playing as I visualized my 13-year old self jogging out to my position at left field.  Further up the field was the boys’ majors field and I remember quite vividly my younger brother taking his spot behind home plate as the catcher.  Running around this field is not just bitter-sweet, but also a little sad too.  There are so many benches throughout the park that are placed in honor of someone–and so many of those someones were people that I knew from high school or other familiar last names that you know when you are from small town America.  Always puts me in a humble frame of mind as I remember those individuals fondly and remember to thank God how truly blessed my life has been. 

After seeing some family friends jog by in the opposite direction, I was nearing mile 7.  Time to trek through some neighborhoods.  I zig zagged back and forth down different blocks and decided to make a quick stop at my friend’s house.  She was cleaning but I figured it would be a nice chance to see her wonderful home improvements that she and her fiance have completed in just a short period of time (added side note I am in this friend’s wedding in June).  Before my body cooled down too much I was back on the road–legs hurting especially the side of my knee (darn IT band).  A lemon-orange energy gel kept me going at mile 10 and then it was time for a trek down another neighborhood and back up towards my high school.  Quick glance towards the old fields where I played soccer and I was nearing the home stretch.

Overall a good run to top off my longest run since last October’s marathon.  I think I’m in good shape for the half in two weeks.  My speed may not be quite where I was hoping to get, but I’m ready regardless to at least finish the race.  I’m even more ready for spring running season!   

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On the Road Again

  1. Jan Hoerst says:

    Wonderful story Sal. We do have a lot of good memories of your sports playing days in Woodstown.

Leave a Reply

