Cherry Blossom Hop


Last night after work I took a jog near the Tidal Basin and out to Haines Point in East Potomac Park of DC.  It was a brisk jog as I ran in shorts and a light hoodie jacket (it looked warmer out than it felt) but overall a lovely evening. 

Springtime in the District is beautiful and if you are not capable of dealing with the thousands of tourists on the weekends, I suggest checking out the cherry blossoms during the week day evenings.  I attempted to see the gorgeous trees last Saturday but unfortunately got caught in a hail storm (you heard me right) and had to turn around.  It was literally mass exodus from the National Mall.  Since living in the area I do my best to make a concerted effort to take in spring’s awakening in our nation’s capital.  For some reason it does not feel like spring if I do not do so.  

I snapped a few photos during the jog and as you can see the blossoms were still pretty, despite the peak having already passed. There also were plenty of other blooms and green leaves sprouting to give my heart a little excitement.  After a quick photo opportunity of the Washington Monument, I dodged some middle school kids, ran past the Jefferson Monument along the Tidal Basin and towards Haines Point.  While jogging along the Potomac’s edge on my right and the East Potomac Golf Course towards my left, I passed some fishermen, a lone woman sitting on a bench, a few tour boats, some fellows playing soccer, a couple of bicyclists and a handful of runners.  It was fairly quiet out and I felt a sense of being alive and free during the jog back to my car as the cool wind blew against my face.  The run back required me to push a little harder since I was running against the wind.  I think once the weekend arrives full spring will be upon us and I won’t even think of the slight winter chill that was still ever so slightly present during this early springtime run. 

Although I snapped many more photos, these were some of my favorites and I hope you get a sense of my relaxing evening jog. 

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cherry Blossom Hop

  1. Pingback: Cherry Blossom Mania | mileoneandcounting

Leave a Reply

