Let’s Take a Walk-About


My parents coined this phrase, “let’s take a walk-about” meaning a late evening walk or stroll around the yard to check out the finished yard work, enjoy the peacefulness of the day and to relish in one another’s company.  As a busy person on the go I often do not make time for “walk-abouts” and when I do I am always so much better for having done so. 

This week I’ve been a bit under the weather and feeling cranky and tired about life in general.  Not exercising in a week has not added much benefit to my first week in my thirties.  Between traveling for work and then getting a cold, I have greatly missed my running routine.  Last night I needed to do something so I decided a fast walk-about was just what the doctor ordered.  The temperature was lovely–80 degrees!  And the neighborhood was in full bloom to give me plenty to take note of knowing full well that a sneeze attack from my allergies might be something to contend with.  But with some upbeat music I was ready to go and I found many others doing the same thing last night.  In fact I saw more walkers out than runners–which makes me feel that people, like my parents, take time to do an evening walk-about all across the country.  Whether is be walking one’s dog, meeting one’s spouse to catch up from a busy day or simply stretching the legs and relaxing to one’s favorite jams, the walk-about is the perfect non-running solution to end the day on a high note.  In fact, I felt so good that I jogged the last two blocks home.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

