Natural Energy from My Kitchen


After an early Saturday morning of errands and working out at the gym (and it was a good elliptical machine and weight workout routine), I had an uneventful yet productive afternoon at home checking many other to-do’s off my list.  And yet, now at 9:30 in the evening I still feel like I have so many things that I didn’t have time to get to–do you ever feel like you just are never able to reach the bottom of your lists?  I needed a break from cleaning, folding laundry and browsing wedding registries for the multitude of weddings I’m attending this year.  So I flipped through my cookbook to find a new “athlete” recipe to test my baker’s hand.  This recipe is a win in my book.  These energy bars are delicious and fairly healthy.  And in honor of Earth Day, which was yesterday, making these did not require a drive to the store to buy the ingredients or wasteful packaging that would come with a store-bought snack.  I had all the items I needed right in my very own kitchen and the best part is that I know exactly what was put into the bars.  As the author of the recipe states, these bars will help you “power up for fast races, or enjoy as a post-workout recovery treat!”  I am looking forward to trying them when my summer marathon training gears up.

Mrs. Jackson’s Famous Natural Energy Bars

(The Runner’s Cookbook compiled by Alison Wade; recipe recommended by Victoria Jackson, the 2006 NCAA 10,000m champion for Arizona State.  These bars are her mother’s recipe.)

Ingredients

3/4 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
8 oz. container vanilla or fruit-flavored lowfat yogurt (I used vanilla)                      
2 egg whites, lightly beaten                        
2 tbsp. vegetable oil or substitute with applesauce (I used applesauce)
2 tbsp. skim milk
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour                                                                                                              1 tsp. baking soda                     
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp. salt 
3 cups uncooked oats (either quick or old-fashioned)                                                                                                                                             1 cup diced mixed fruit, raisins, or cranberries (I used dried apricots and blueberry and pomegranate-infused cranberries)                                                                                      1/2 cup mixed nuts (I used slivered almonds)                                                                                                                                                                                                     2 tbsp. flaxseed (optional, but I used)           
1 tsp. ginger (optional, but I used)

1.  Preheat oven to 350.  In a large bowl, combine both sugars, yogurt, beaten egg whites, oil/applesauce, milk, and vanilla extract; mix well.

2.  In a medium bowl, combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt, flaxseed, and ginger; mix well. 

3.  Add the dry ingredients to the yogurt mixture in the large bowl; mix well.

4.  Stir in oats, dried fruit, and mixed nuts.  Spread the dough onto the bottom of an ungreased 13×9-inch baking pan. 

         

5.  Bake for 25 to 32 minutes, or until the bars are light brown and a knife placed in the middle comes out clean.  Remove from oven and cool completely on a wire rack.  Cut into bars; makes two dozen. 

    

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

