Soccer Sprint


Running is such an individual sport and I have missed some of the camaraderie that comes with playing team sports.  I grew up playing soccer all my life so when I stepped on to the field the other night for a game, a sense of nostalgia rushed back to me.  My “cheer on my teammates” mode kicked in from the sidelines and I was ready to help motivate my fellow players on the field. 

I also have a competitive edge when playing soccer.  When on the field I feel like I’m 15 again running down the field trying my best to score a goal or beat my opponent to the ball.  I love the feeling that comes from racing as fast as you can on a break-away.  (I had one but unfortunately did not score a goal.)  Sometimes I wonder if I only feel fast when I’m running on the soccer field but when I can outrun some of the guys on the field I know I must be quick!  It’s fun and I pride myself on not only being able to run long-distance races but also being able to maximize my quick-twitch muscles through sprinting.  One of the girls on the team told me that my new nickname is going to be “legs” because I’m fast.  I may not be a big presence on the field but I will do my darndest to beat you any day of the week. 

This competitive spirit from growing up on the soccer field has been transferred to the road races.  During a race I pick people throughout the race duration to pass and those are the mini challenges that help me keep me going when I’m beginning to lose steam.

In a nutshell, soccer and it’s team sported-ness is a welcome change to some of the long runs I do on my own.  And the sprinting is such that you do not even look at it as work.  All of which will suit me well for my next round of marathon training over the summer.  Go team!

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

