Light, Strong and Energized


Well…maybe not so much after eating some brownies this afternoon but I had a major chocolate craving!  Typically though I do feel light, strong and energized.  At least that is my goal during workouts.  While not a conscious goal, I do know when it’s been accomplished.  Last night was one of those nights.  I was in desperate need of pumping some iron as I had not been good about lifting weights for at least a week or so.  There is something empowering about being a petite woman in the gym against the backdrop of meathead grunting men who look like they might pop a vessel in their heads.  It used to intimidate me but now I don’t care because I deserve to be there just as much as they do.  I may not be lifting enormous loads like them but I do push myself a little harder with each set.

I was telling a friend that I have a love-hate relationship with weight lifting.  I never want to do it, but once I’m in the swing of things actually enjoy myself.  It’s fun to see my muscles working in the mirror (ok so I like to admire myself a little bit) and clothes just fit so much better with a little bit of muscle definition.  I love that muscle memory will always be there–they just remember they exist and while my arm muscles are not the biggest on the block they are there.

A lot of runners forget to work their upper bodies but being a naturally small-framed person I cannot neglect to do so.  My leg muscles naturally get stronger and larger when I run so to keep an equal balance weight lifting is key.  Here are a few of my favorite exercises for upper body and the primary muscles that they work:

  • Dumbbell Chest Press:  targets chest area (pectoralis major and minor and triceps); typically lie on a flat bench or stability ball
  • Dumbbell Curls:  targets arms (biceps); typically standing
  • Lat Pulldown:  targets back (latissimus dorsi); typically machine
  • Overhead Press or Dumbbell Shoulder Press:  targets shoulders (deltoid, anterior); machine, standing or sitting on a bench
  • Tricep dips:  targets arms (triceps); multiple ways to work including assisted pull-up/tricep dip machine, off a bench, or using dumbbells
  • Pushups:  targets chest and arms (pectorals and triceps); one of the most tried and true calisthenic exercise that I wholeheartedly agree keeps your upper body strong–beauty is that you can do them anywhere!

While lifting weights it’s also important to keep moving between sets.  My newest tip is jump roping.  Now finding a spot at the gym can sometimes be tricky but with some good tunes it can be a lot of fun.   Challenge–jump rope on one leg and alternate.  Take breaks with pushups or situps in between.

So here’s to weightlifting and staying light, strong and energized!

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

