Pacific Coast Run


There is nothing quite like a 6:30 am run alongside the Pacific Ocean. A gentle breeze. No humidity. Breathtaking vistas. Life does not get much better than this.

Early morning view looking back to the resort

Now I may be a Jersey girl at heart but being in California this weekend for my brother’s wedding has helped me get back to my roots a little. After all I was born in Los Angeles which makes me a native. When I travel West it makes me yearn to pick up and move where the landscape is grander sparking a creative spirit within. Alas, a girl can dream a little and running in such a beautiful place here in Rancho Palos Verdes makes one think about dropping everything else and starting something new.

I ran down and back up the steep trail seen in the distance in this photo.

My head was clear this morning as I made my way first through the trail that began at the resort…a gorgeous place called the Terranea…then I jogged further to find the Pescadero Trail that took me down a steep incline to a rocky beach.

The steep hill I ran down to visit the rocky beach

I stopped here to take a few photos and then slowly trudged my way back up (practically on my tip toes as it was just that steep). On the way up some men were heading down to fish. If they caught too many it would surely be a long haul back up the trail. 

Rocky shoreline

 

Rocks and color seaweed near water's edge

Spectacular views back to the resort

During the run I made sure to watch my step near the crumbling mountain’s edge.   I also had the opportunity to see some wildlife including a rabbit hopping across the trail, pelicans trawling for fish and a snail inching its way through the sandy path (I saw the lines it left across the trail and was very grateful to see a snail and not a rattlesnake)!

Watch your step!

Pelicans in formation

Hotel knows we runners need to stay hydrated

 As I inched my way back towards the resort I was happy and rejuvenated.  What a great morning to be alive. To feel my legs move beneath me. To experience the beauty of this country we live in. A rave run like this helps to appreciate the little things in life all the more. Tomorrow is a big day for my family as my younger brother gets married and it’s so exciting to see the future that is before him and my wonderful soon-to-be sister-in-law. Before the manicures and pedicures and toasting and merriment, my run along the beautiful California coastline this morning offered an opportunity to reflect and thank God for all the blessings bestowed on my family. What a great start to the weekend ahead!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pacific Coast Run

  1. Love the imagery in this post! As a former Californian, I know the feeling you’re talking about once you step off the plane and breathe in the California air. There’s nothing like it.

Leave a Reply

