Smart Coach Says Faster


Today I wondered how I ever accomplished a 26.2 mile run–not just once, but twice–in my lifetime.  It was hot outside, I was sticky with sweat running down my face, sunscreen in my eyes, tired legs and a side stitch only a mile and a half in.  Is running in the heat like this really what I want to be doing on the first day of summer?  Maybe the pool would have been a better idea.  But trudged along I did because it is Day 2 of my Smart Coach Six-week training plan to ten miles and I was not giving up on the “Hard” plan. 

Today’s run:  5 mile tempo run:  1 mile warm-up, 3 miles at 8:16 pace and 1 mile cool down.  I counted softball as yesterday’s cross-training day which may not have been the best idea because my legs were tired from running sprints around the base.  The side of my right thigh was feeling a bit battered due to my massive wipe out while rounding third base last night.  My upper back also was feeling the burn from hitting and throwing which I have not done in close to a year.  I did manage to get on base two out of three times and scored both times; sadly our team lost though.  But I digress…

I kept moving as best I could maintaining the 8:16 tempo for some time with bouts of going faster or slower.  Sometimes it’s difficult for me to tell if my Garmin is calculating my speed correctly.  Often I think it must have a life of its own. 

I wound my way through my neighborhood, busy suburban streets and then down part of a quiet trail.  I found myself breathe a little easier as I was out of the direct heat and the trees provided a nice canopy of shade.  When I just about had enough of running I saw a small boy around the age of two or three who was handicapped.  He was with a parent or caretaker and working on walking in a wheelchair/walker type apparatus to get his legs moving.  I recall seeing him in the past on this trail.  I am blessed with the ability to move my legs every day and this little boy had to fight for that right.  The least I could do was not feel sorry for myself tonight. 

I made my way back home, perfectly timing the run so that I hit five miles right before a massive hill.  Oh the tricks we runners play in our minds.  Air conditioning and a shower never felt so good.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

