Cool Runnings


Today was the perfect summer morning for running.  A breezy 69 degrees making its way to the mid-70’s, not a cloud in the sky and low humidity!  That’s my kind of July morning. 

I completed a 7 mile run with my training buddy.  We are both running the Philadelphia marathon in November so having someone training for the same race definitely keeps me motivated for the long road ahead. 

I have not written in a while but here is where my training stands so far.  My pre-marathon training plan using the Runner’s World Smart Runner app on my phone has been a good plan to get me to my 10-mile base for my “much more serious, hope to qualify for Boston plan”.  I am up to 7 miles so far and have been doing one run during the week focusing on speed using tempo runs, one long run on the weekend and one shorter two miler.  On other days I have been “relaxing” a bit more playing softball, soccer and golf (I am quite active these days).  Last night I did lift weights at the gym and I realize that I need to make this more of a priority as I move into a more serious routine.  Basically I need to ensure that I am confusing my muscles a bit more so that they become stronger and do not get comfortable with a set routine (more on muscle confusion in a future post). 

I have felt pretty good in all of my runs so far and have been dealing ok with the heat.  More of this weather and I’ll be really happy.  The only thing that worries me a bit is that I’ve been getting a lot of headaches during the day.  It may be too much work on the computer or perhaps that my eye doctor told me yesterday that I have an eye compensation of sorts which did not make complete sense to me.  Basically I am focusing on the computer screen too intently and it’s causing the iris to not naturally blur out items when they normally would not be clear to me.  Anyway, minor side note on that.  I may be a candidate for a very minor reading glasses prescription (sigh, I’m only 30!).   I think I need to get a job away from a computer–anyone want to pay me big bucks for marathon coaching?

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

