Give Me Speed


Tonight was a typical hot, muggy summer evening in the nation’s capital.  The high called for 93 but when I checked the reading at 6:30 pm it definitely said 97 degrees.  Seven-mile run outside?  Wrong.  I just wasn’t bold enough tonight to put my body through the heat and especially not on a day when I needed to work on my speed.  I justified this theory by looking at the clouds looming overhead–a storm had to be in the works (although to my knowledge one never hit–just a sprinkle that lasted a hot second). 

So off to the gym to claim a treadmill it would be.  The journey was not as bad as I suspected. My only complaint was the smelly guy running next to me for about two of my miles.  I had some newly downloaded tunes so I was ready to fly.  Here was what I accomplished tonight:

1 mile warm-up jog; 3×1600 in 7:47 (plan called for 7:44 pace but this is the closest I could get to it on the treadmill) with 800 jogs; Cool down

Overall, I ran the 7 miles in just over 62 minutes so that is a little less than an average 9 minute/mile pace.  I was happy with the fact that I ran three of my seven miles at a 7:47 pace.  I will continue to build upon that to make for more consecutive speedy miles. 

 

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

