To Good Health


I tried two recipes this afternoon:  creamy carrot juice and energy bars.  The carrot juice is my first experiment with my new juicer and I’ll admit that vegetable juices are going to take some time to get used to.  I’ll let it chill over night and see how I like it in the morning.  As for the energy bars, they are delicious!

Creamy Carrot Juice

Ingredients

  • 4 large organic carrots

1.)  Wash carrots using water and a stiff vegetable brush to remove any dirt.

2.) Remove tops and slice to fit juicer.

3.) Juice and enjoy. 

Yield: 8 ounces (1 cup)

Carrot juice is considered a favorite of many vegetable juices.  It is suggested as a good ingredient to mix with other juices. It has a great supply of potassium, iron, magnesium, calcium, manganese, sodium, silicone and iodine. Suggested to drink upon being made or keep in refrigerator to drink the same day. 

Baked Energy Bars

(courtesy:  Runner’s World, September 2011) 

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons honey
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 2 eggs
  • walnuts (I substituted with sliced almonds)
  • orange zest (I substituted with lemon zest)
  • 2 cups granola

1.)  Mix all ingredients

2.) Bake 15 minutes at 375 degrees

Despite having more calories than sugar, honey has many more healthy advantages.  Runner’s World cited the following as reasons for incorporating honey into one’s diet:  provides fuel performance, controls blood sugar, boosts antioxidant levels, curbs cholesterol and improves G.I. health. 

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To Good Health

  1. pagg ferris says:

    Hi you said absolutely right that the carrot juice is very important for us. Am also taking carrot juice twice a day because it is good for our eyes and my eye vision is very weak. I also liked your Baked Energy Bars dish i will surely try to make it this weekend.

Leave a Reply

