Running to Remember


This morning was a beautiful day with bright blue skies and no humidity.  Unfortunately, I had to attend a funeral for a colleague who passed away last week of cancer.  She was young–only in her 40’s with four children.  I really thought she would beat this horrible disease; she fought so hard but it spread and took over her body.  One of the special memories I have of her is the fact that she loved running so much!  She would stop by my office on Mondays to tell me of how many miles she logged that weekend.  I would offer her advice to incorporate cross-training into her routine and I encouraged her to sign up for a race.  After all, if you are logging 8-10 miles every weekend, might as well put it towards a goal.

As she went through rounds of chemotherapy she would tell me how much she missed running.  Remarkably, as things started to improve she shared with joy that she was running again with a friend much older than herself–she could keep up that way, was what she told me.  She even managed to run in the June Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure here in Washington, DC.  Then things took a backward slide and running was soon a dream of the past.

It’s always shocking when someone so young leaves this world, but at least she is in a better place and out of pain.  I decided that before this morning’s memorial service I would knock out my six miles and focus on her and do this training run in her honor.  My mind swayed a few times but overall I did my best to keep her in my thoughts for the 52 minutes I was running. And you know what?  I felt strength in doing that; this run was just a small way to keep her and her family at the forefront of my thoughts. 

Later, back at work we had a 5.9 earthquake in DC that was felt all the way up the East Coast and down through parts of North Carolina.  It was quite possibly one of the scariest moments in my life but all is well.  I like to think that it was Susan announcing that she made it home to heaven and it was time for a much-needed run.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running to Remember

  1. jan says:

    This was beautiful. I’m so sorry about your friend, Sallyann. May she rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

