Beauty of the Great Lakes


Running...what a great way to wake up every morning!

Hurricane Irene is hunkering down on the East Coast.  I’m visiting my family in New Jersey and although the hurricane has not yet officially hit the state, the rain has arrived.  Yesterday, the Governor ordered a state of emergency evacuating folks from the shore and all up and down the East coast we are preparing for the worst.  As unimportant as this sounds, I am not running today.  Good thing today’s long run was dropping down a bit to ten miles so I don’t think it will hurt me too much to skip.

However, I was lucky enough to have a beautiful Friday morning run in Marquette, Michigan.  For work I was in the Upper Peninsula, home of the Yoopers, doncha know?  On Thursday evening I enjoyed a lovely meal with some colleagues and I was amazed that at 9:30 pm it was still light outside.  Someone told me that Marquette is one of the most western cities located in the eastern standard time zone area of the country; therefore, it tends to stay lighter longer in the summer.  (In June the sun still lingers around 10:30 pm)  The only bad thing is that during the winter the sun shines less frequently with sunrise sometimes occuring past 8 am (can we say seasonal depression!).  But the folks I met there didn’t seem to think it was so bad–people move there for the quality of life and it’s a land of outdoor activities throughout all the seasons.  I think that I’d be up for the challenge of living in a place like that especially where everyone is so friendly. 

Morning kayak time

When I travel to new places, even quick work trips, I always try to squeeze in just enough time to get some sense of my surroundings and local culture.  So by 6:30 am Friday morning, I was out the door for my running adventure.  Marquette is located along Lake Superior, the largest of the Great Lakes.  Temperature was in the high 60’s with very little humidity.  What a nice relief from what I’ve been running in all summer.  There was a terrific jogging trail along the lake and, as I tend to do in new running destinations, I snapped some photos on my phone and through them you can learn more about my journey.  I really wanted to run further, but time was prohibitive.  This run was the perfect antidote to my recent wave of “I’m getting bored with running.”  I was in a new surrounding which helped take me out of that rut.

Morning splendor

Sailboats in the harbor on Lake Superior

 

Lake Superior Yacht Yard

 
 

Lone guard stand

 
   

Breathe in the pine tree scent

Looking for buried treasure...capturing moments

Week 4 Recap (8/21-8/27): 3 days of running totalling 14 miles (skipped long run), 1 cross training day (including weights)

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beauty of the Great Lakes

  1. jan says:

    Love these pictures! They are beautiful!

  2. Pingback: Chicago In A Day By Boat, Foot and Bike | mileoneandcounting

Leave a Reply

