Let the Sun Shine


Thank goodness for my continued running this week.  Without those endorphins running through my body I may have thought that seasonal depression was about to kick in.  The sun has not come out all week!  It was gray outside my work window and I was beginning to think that summer had truly come to an end, the fall was skipped and winter was here.  What a way to come back from vacation! 

Thanks to the remnants of two hurricanes–Lee and Katia–the Washington, DC area and much of the Eastern Seaboard experienced a LOT of wet and rainy conditions.  Some much harder hit than others and unfortunately some casualties as well.  Lee was short-lived as a hurricane, turned tropical storm, but his effects had major impact on our area, and Katia is on her way now to Great Britain so best of luck to the Brits. 

On Thursday morning, I headed out for an 8ish mile run (my watch died along the way).  My 6:30 am run was actually the most dry time of the entire day with only a few sprinkles in the way.  Later was a much different story!  I’m glad that I had chosen the trail that I took because looking down at a lower level trail was more like looking down at a rolling river.  The stream bed was gushing over the parts of the trail and it looked like it would have been a good time for some white water rafting. 

I will say that the cooler conditions were nice to run in but it’s not much fun to worry that you might potentially slip on a wet leaf or have your sneaker get stuck in the mud.  I’ll take the sun over the rain any day of the week and I’m happy to see that the skies are blue again–just in time for the start of the weekend upon us.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

