We Will Never Forget


We are blessed to live in a country where freedom rings.  

We are blessed to live where we can lace up our sneakers and dash happily out the door without fear of stepping in a land mind or being stopped to prove our citizenship. 

We are blessed to live where we can have an opinion and be different from one another. 

We are blessed to live where we can share our faith without fear.

In addition to the usual, “where were you?” question, these are many of the themes I have reflected on today–the ten-year anniversary of the horrific  tragedy of September 11, 2001.  While our nation did change forever, we did not throw in the towel defeated. 

We may become complacent now and again, but for the most part people still continue to give random acts of kindness to strangers.  We have learned never to take our freedoms for granted and that we must continue to pass this history to younger generations.  We, as both a nation and as  individuals, must find strength and change for the better every day.   

As was depicted on that very tragic day, our days on Earth are numbered (and unfortunately some much sooner than others).  Therefore,we must take advantage of each day we are breathing full of life.  I think about that when I go out for my long training runs–how lucky and blessed I am to have strong lungs and legs that keep me going, and that I do not live in fear of what I will encounter when I’m out running.  I encourage you to go and try something you did not think was possible–climb that mountain you’ve always wanted to see from the top, take that dream trip you’ve always dreamed about, tell someone you love them today. 

We will never forget.  

Week 6 Recap (9/5-9/10): 4 days of running totalling 36 miles (including 16 mile long run at 2:23), 1 cross training day (yoga and weights)

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

