A State of Mind


I’m a true believer that age is a state of mind and that you are only as old as you feel.  I think that my upbringing is why I have such a mindset.  I have always been surrounded by parents and grandparents who never let an ache or pain or their age be a setback to getting something done.  And to complain is the worse thing ever–after all, what’s the point!  Sure we all have days where we are tired but to complain about it will only make you feel worse.

Exercise is a key component in my life at keeping me feeling young.  And yes, I am by no means “old” yet–30 is the new 20, right?  But when I meet people who are younger than me with so many aches and pains,  I can’t help but wonder if they are really all that bad or whether they are bringing it on themselves.  I understand that we aren’t all blessed with perfect health but we can make healthy decisions each day to eat a balanced diet and exercise.  No, I don’t expect everyone to go out and run a marathon, but incorporating simple things into your life can make a huge difference overtime.  It goes without saying–take the stairs instead of the elevator, forego being a couch potato every night of the week, and pack your own lunch each day.  These little things do help!

Exercising and eating right are not easy.  I’ll be the first to admit–training for a marathon takes a lot of discipline and there are days when I splurge and want the most unhealthy item on the menu.  But believe me when I take the time to focus on my eating decisions and keep up with an exercise routine I do feel better.  Start with small steps and you’ll be on your way to greater energy and happiness the whole day through. 

Week 8 Recap (9/18-9/24): 3 days of running totalling 19 miles, 2 cross training days (yoga and weights)

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

