October Run


The last two weekends I skipped my long run due to travel so today I was ready to get outside and pound some pavement.  That is until I stepped outside around 9 am.  Brrr…it was cold!  Low 50’s–hello October!  It’s officially fall now.  The rain sprinkling overhead also added to the chilly morning.  So I took to the trails with more tree cover to help keep me dry.  The trees helped block out much of the rain until I made it back to the open clearing of the trail.  My brain was playing tricks on me at this point and I was not even at mile three.  “Just go back home…get a warm cup of coffee.  Finish the run on the treadmill.”  So I turned and began heading back in the direction I came from, but then said to myself, “what are you doing?  You are a runner.  Don’t be a wuss.  Days like this make you stronger.”  Ok, so change of heart and I took off down a side trail that I had never been on before. 

I was off on a new adventure seeing places in my own backyard that I never knew existed.  For example, I found a nature center that would be a great place to bring kids for exploring.  One of the things I like to discover when I am on a trail run is to figure out where I am in proximity to what the cross streets are off the trail.  It is such a sense of accomplishment when you come to the trail head and see a big sign noting a highway is up ahead or that you are running under a street that you drive on all the time.  I always feel empowered by the notion that my legs can take me places that even seem far to get to by car!

When I turned back towards the main trail it was no longer raining so I knew I could finish my long run without doubts.  Plus I was now in my groove and feeling good.  I meandered my way back to the open trail area and was met by other runners who stuck it out like me.  I was thrilled that the steady stream of bicyclists passing on the left was much slower than usual.

Sometimes a run that does not seem so awesome at the start ends up being a lot of fun!  I knocked out 15 miles (even though my plan called for 20, but I’ve already accepted that the plan is too difficult).  I stretched well when I got home and as I sit on my couch typing I am feeling remarkably well and happy at where my training is at this point.  Seven weeks to go!

Week 9 Recap (9/25-10/1): 3 days of running totalling 25 miles, 1 cross training day (weights), 1 day of sprint training (double- header soccer game where I assisted on one goal)

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

