Random Musings From The Week


I’m completely off my running schedule!  I’m tired of waking up early as the mornings are too dark and by the time the evening hits I don’t always feel like running.  But for some reason I am hungry, hungry, hungry.  And it doesn’t help that I bought a big bag of Halloween candy the other day.  I mainly bought the bag so that I would have candy to take to the kids at the tutoring center where I go on Monday evenings.  But there is only so much sugar you willingly want to and should  feed children at a time–they go berserk!  So I’m pawning it off on coworkers as well.  But still late night those candies are calling my name.

On Tuesday morning I did manage to squeeze in a five-mile run and then Wednesday evening I made it home in time to watch the Phillies baseball game (they are on for Game 5 tonight against the St. Louis Cardinals for a trip to the NLDS…say a little prayer they pull this one out–I am a die hard fan!).  On that night I needed to do something so around the 4th inning I went out for a 20 minute jog.  In addition I did some stretching, sit-ups, and other exercises while I watched the game. 

One thing that I am proud of this week as far as fitness levels go is that I have done 260 push-ups so far.  And my arms are already feeling it.  Why you might ask?  Well I was challenged by this 80-something year old woman who was highlighted in the most recent Runner’s World.  She has run a number of marathons (is doing NYC next month) and credits her ability to do so to healthy eating and knocking out 150 push-ups in a day.  I managed to do 120 two days in a row and 20 yesterday (I got sidetracked with other things).  And let me tell you, my arms can feel the burn!  Not to mention I had a flu shot this week which always leaves my arm a little tender.  Anyway, I am amazed by this woman and if she can do it, so can I! 

Last random musing and this has nothing to do with running–yesterday I had the awesome opportunity to attend the Washington Ideas Forum at the Newseum.  The annual event was sponsored by The Atlantic and The Aspen Institute.  My company was an underwriter for the event which meant they had extra seats to send a few people.  So for four plus hours I was in the presence of political leaders and newsmaker luminaries!  It was very exciting and the place to be to hear thoughtful discussions about the current events of the day.  Here were some of the highlighted individuals:  Vice President Joe Biden, former Vice President Dick Cheney and his daughter Liz, former Pakistan president Perez Musharaf, former Secretary of State Henry Kissinger, Speaker of the House John Boehner, Representative Paul Ryan, Starbucks CEO Howard Schultz, Exxon Mobile’s President and CEO Rex Tillerson, MSNBC’s Chris Matthews, Fox News Channel personality Chris Wallace, Meet the Press host David Gregory, and former CBS news anchor (soon to launch her own show) Katie Couric.  Felt like I had a little piece of history while sitting there in the second row.  My dad even spotted me on C-SPAN as they panned the crowd.  

Tonight I am running home from work–it is much needed to get a jump on the weekend! 

Happy Friday!

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

