Fall Long Run


Autumn is exhibiting itself in all its wonderful glory today!  A few weeks ago I was a little nervous that fall was going to be skipped over and that we were headed straight to winter but Mother Nature proved me wrong. 

I was out the door a few minutes before 8 am for an 18-mile run.  Luckily I had company as my friend rode his bike along and carried all my water…definitely a helpful gesture for training runs.  Before I left, I looked up the water stops for the Philly Marathon and jotted them on a piece of paper.  My friend kept these mile markers on him so that I was reminded to drink water and snack at these times.  It worked pretty well  and I’m more confident that I can get away with not carrying my fuel belt on me during the run.  I have used one for the past two marathons but it’s a real nuisance to me while I run.  I see other people on the trail running with them and they seem to perfectly fit but on me the darn thing just shakes and slides despite being on the tightest setting.  All the sliding then results in the belt chafing right above my hip and that is just annoying.  Does anyone else out there have this problem?  I shouldn’t complain about having a small waistline but the makers of these belts need to consider creating one with my body proportions in mind! 

All rants aside, I think that running without the belt will keep me more focused resulting in a faster run.  However, I do need to figure out how to tote my phone around because it’s the only way I can keep my family on track with where I am during the race as well as ensuring I do not lose them after the race.  So I’ll determine later what I’m taking with me on race day.

Today’s run felt great with temperatures starting out a little chilly in the 50’s but rising to high 60’s; around Mile 13 I was beginning to get sore in my legs, butt and knees.  The last mile was the toughest as my mind just wanted to be done and the wind decided to kick up a notch at that point and blow right at me.  Overall I was able to maintain an average 9:04 pace finishing in 2:43:14.  I have pretty much nixed a Boston qualifier time so now I’m focused on finishing in under 4 hours.  I am hopeful! 

The rest of the day I decided that cleaning my apartment and switching out summer clothes with winter ones was a great plan and now I’m completely wiped out so I may be spending the rest of my day plopped on my couch to watch football, a movie, well whatever strikes my fancy.  Sounds quite delightful to me since I rarely find myself being lazy. 

Week 11 Recap (10/9-10/15): 3 days of running totalling 24 miles, 1 cross training day (weights and yoga), 1 soccer game, 300 push ups, and 2 days at the golf driving range (not sure that helps me in my training but it was fun!)

5 Weeks Till Race Day!!!

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fall Long Run

  1. Sarah says:

    A few things…
    1) A tailor can take an inch or so off of your fuel belt so it fits more comfortably, although I agree that they’ll only bring you down on the race;
    2) A lot of expos sell these “fanny pack” type things with an adjustable belt (but truly adjustable, so not like the fuel belts) and this pouch that expands according to what’s in it. It’ll expand enough for a phone and a hotel key, but it’s not at ALL bulky. Alternatively, your family can sign up for runner tracking on their phones, and you can just meet them at family meet-up (warn them that it may take you 20 minutes to get there due to congestion in the finisher corral!) When I did Philly, the person waiting for me had a huge sign–it was so easy to spot him when I was finished! (although I’m sure he got tired holding up that darn sign the whole time while I was getting my water and whatnot.)
    3) Finally, don’t give up on your BQ yet. That’s a *solid* time for an 18 mile run, and at Philly you will have the added benefits of colder weather, a flatter course and adrenaline. You’re going to rock it this year; just have faith. 🙂

    • Thanks Sarah–I think I actually do have a runner’s fanny pack type thing because it does adjust, so perhaps fuel belt is the wrong description I’ve been using. Perhaps hydration pack is the correct term? It’s the second one I’ve tried and still no luck. Maybe I need to investigate what else is out there.

      And that’s a good idea about the family meet-up area or I can always pick the Rocky Statue in Philly!

      Thanks, we’ll see how the rest of training goes…all great tips you have provided!

Leave a Reply

