Under the Weather


I’ve been a bit under the weather this week and am wondering what my fellow runners do when sickness hits during training mode.  I suppose this depends on the level of sickness.  I have the typical head cold (which I’m blaming on that flight from Maine last week) and the past two days at work seriously felt like I was in a major fog.  But somehow I still tell myself, “you are not dying so you can still run.”  Not sure if that is the best idea or not but the fresh air from running was really when I have felt best this week. 

On Tuesday I played soccer after work and yesterday evening I did a light jog/walk with two friends who are gearing up for their very first 5K (I’m very proud that they are trying something new that is outside their comfort level).  Soccer may have been a stretch but the good thing was that we had enough girls to substitute in and out of the double-header that we played.  I got in some decent sprints which will help make up for the lack of miles I put in this week.  The light jog/walk with my friends was enough to keep my legs moving without overdoing my lung power.   And it was a beautiful evening.  The photo of the Potomac River does not do the evening justice.  

Needless to say I decided that taking a sick day today would be a good idea to make sure I fully recover, can complete a good 10+ mile run on Saturday and have a fun time in the Marine Corps Marathon 10K on Sunday. 

A little rest does the body good when one is feeling under the weather.  But don’t underestimate the power that a burst of fresh air can have on the sick body.  It always does me a world of good.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

