Expo, Snow and Pie


Today’s temperatures dropped dramatically and all I’m thinking is that I am so glad I ran my 20-mile training run last week when it was lovely in the high 50’s!  I did a seven mile treadmill run this morning and tomorrow am running the Marine Corps 10K.  Fingers crossed it brightens up tomorrow.

Yesterday evening I headed to the marathon expo to pick up my bib number and t-shirt (a long sleeved bright yellow shirt).  I actually felt a little guilty not picking up the red marathon shirt when one guy working the event said to me “you aren’t running the marathon?”  “Well,” I replied puffing my shoulders up a bit, “I ran it last year and am in training for Philly in November.”  I felt much better after that which is really quite ridiculous. 

But I love expos so much…the excitement that they bring, all the garb one can buy or browse and of course the free goodies and samples of energy bars, gels, etc.  I restrained myself from buying anything and stuck to my rule that I only buy when I am running a marathon, thus the 10K does not count.  I did find something that I am going to ask Santa for Christmas–a wall hanger for my medals to be displayed. 

I made some friends at the Air Force Marathon booth and talked a while to a former Air Force guy.  I found strength and camaraderie in speaking to him about my brother who arrives very soon in Afghanistan.  And it was neat to hear his stories about running. He never is in training since he never actually stops his weekly runs.  This would be something I would strive to do if it only did not take up so much time! 

I’m headed to a pasta party tonight with some friends who also are running the race tomorrow.  My contribution is an apple pie which smells delicious in my apartment right now.  It came from my Runner’s Cookbook, of which I’ve shared some other recipes.

Swedish Apple Pie

(The Runner’s Cookbook, recommended by running champions Sara and Ryan Hall; they actually served this pie at their wedding so it must be that good)

Ingredients

4 cups sliced, peeled apples

2 tbsp. brown sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 cup butter

Pinch of salt

1 cup sugar

1 cup flour

1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used walnuts)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2. Fill a nine-inch pie plate with the sliced, peeled apples.  Sprinkle with brown sugar and cinnamon.

3.  Mix the butter, salt, sugar, flour, egg and nuts together. Spread on top of the apples.

4.  Bake for one hour and serve warm with vanilla ice cream. (I’m taking whipped cream)

This pie “makes its own crust.”

Enjoy!

Week 13 Recap (10/24-10/30): 3 days of running totalling  15 miles, 1 cross training day, 3 weight workouts, 1 soccer game and 200 push ups

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

