Nursing Myself to Good Health


This week has been a bit of a bear for me.  Pre-race jitters are one thing, but pre-race jitters with a chest cold is a completely different story.  I must have picked up a cold in Denver but when it immediately turned into a cough that has stayed in my chest for a week, I got nervous.  I’ve never been sick going into a race so all week I have been wondering how to handle this.  Thank goodness I can see that I am feeling much better…still not 100 percent full health but running the last two mornings at the gym (a 5 and 3.5 miler) have made me feel better and that I should be ok.  Let’s just say that Vick’s Vapo Run and Mucinex have helped nurse me back to good health.  And a good dose of cooking some comforting banana bread is always a good thing too. 

Peanut Butter Banana Bread

(Maureen Callahan, Cooking Light)

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups mashed ripe bananas
  • 1/3 cup plain fat-free yogurt
  • 1/3 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 large eggs (or egg whites)
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (or whole wheat)
  • 1/4 cup ground flaxseed
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 2 tablespoons chopped dry-roasted peanuts (I did not use in the recipe)
  • cooking spray

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

  1. Combine first five ingredients in a large bowl, beat with a mixer at medium speed.
  2. Add granulated sugar and brown sugar; beat until blended.
  3. Weigh or lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife
  4. Combine flour and next five ingredients in a small bowl.
  5. Add the flour mixture to banana mixture; beat just until blended.
  6. Bake for 1 hour and five minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.
  7. Remove from oven and cool.

  

 

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

