Keeping Off the Holiday Lbs.


Wow, it’s that time of year again…the time for lots of food and yummy treats.  The cookies, the muffins, the cakes…the baking in my own home and the baking of my coworkers does not seem to end and with that comes enticement.  How can one seriously say no to a delicious piece of hummingbird cake or buckeyes (peanut butter balls dipped in chocolate)?

I took a quick poll via Facebook to see how my friends stay trim during the holiday season and here were a few responses:

Laura:  “My friend and I are trying to do a good healthy eating plan for Advent and incorporate faith into the diet plan in that way.  I’m trying to run a minimum of four miles most days, kind of kick it up since there are holiday parties and so many opportunities for both snacking and late-night eating and drinking, which can be killers for me!!! I also find YouTube also helps pass treadmill and elliptical time even better than the iPod, on occasion!  I watched the Miracle on Ice today and was sprinting exuberantly by the end.”

Dana:  “I say to have a workout partner to motivate. That always helps.”

Becky:  “Wear lots of black and chase a toddler….Constantly!”

As for me, I have always had the point of view that moderation is key so I don’t limit myself to having a special dessert from time to time.  But I do know that if I overindulge my exercises won’t amount too much good. 

I do agree with Laura that on occasion I’ll whip out my iPhone and watch an episode of Glee through my NetFlix account.  You’d be amazed at how fast 40 minutes on the treadmill will go. 

What are your strategies for keeping off unwanted holiday weight this time of year?  Or do you indulge for now, knowing that your New Year’s resolutions are just around the corner?

P.S.: For now my running is sort of back on track.  I ran two days in a row over the last weekend (certainly not this one though) as well as a 5-mile treadmill run during the week.  But I’m not wearing my Garmin to keep time or worry about pace.  The runs are simply to keep some endorphins flowing since I have missed them during my more intense training.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

