New Adventures


I’ve been a bit slack with the blogging so far in 2012 but for good reasons I assure you.  I started a new job last Monday so most of February was spent wrapping things up in my old job.  I sure did accumulate a lot of stuff in 4.5 years and it was bittersweet moving on.  But week one of my new job went well.  I’m in a new part of town in DC which is great for exploring new things over my lunch break!  Another perk–there is a gym in the basement level of my building which gives me an additional option for workouts.  I also heard that a new spin/yoga studio is opening in March–only a few blocks away. 

Despite my lack of blogging here, I have been fairly consistent with my workouts.  Although, I have taken a break from some of the running, I have incorporated at least one class a week of spinning into my routine.  It’s really revving me up so that I appreciate my runs more.  The teachers at my gym are pretty good and the 6 am class helps set the tone for the day ahead.  My knees are happier too!

But I do have a half marathon to eek out in March.  Yesterday, I did do about 8.5 miles on the National Mall and down to Haines Point and back with a college friend who was in town.  It was great fun catching up (a few years since we saw one another) in the crisp early morning with her. 

Between transitioning jobs at the end of January, I took a four-day mini vacation (all by myself!) to Key West.  I had never done a trip on my own like this but it was indeed the perfect way to unwind before starting something new.  ImageThe first morning I was there I took a wonderful run along the promendade.  The following day, I rented a bike and did the same thing.      I read a lot at the beach, toured the town and much more. 

My last day was the highlight–a catamaran ferry ride to the Dry Tortugas!  These island chains are seven miles off the coast of Key West.  In the 1800’s Fort Jefferson, a Civil War-era fort, was built to help the United States protect the shipping channel and warn ships of the dangerous shallow waters.  During and after the Civil War, it was used primarily by the Union as a prison for deserters and criminals.  In fact, Dr. Samuel Mudd, the physician who was found complicit in the Lincoln assassination for treating John Wilkes Booth’s broken leg, was imprisoned for life at Fort Jefferson until later pardoned by President Johnson.  In addition to checking out the fort, I snorkeled (saw a barricuda, parrot fish, zebra fish and more) and made some new friends.  It was an amazing day!  No cell phones, no rush, just good old-fashioned fun in the middle of the ocean!

ImageImage

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Adventures

  1. A vacation alone (while inconceivable at this stage in my life) sounds divine–I’m envious of your freedom! Congratulations on your new job!! 🙂

  2. kamskates says:

    And I have to say, on behalf of my family, Dr. Mudd was wrongfully convicted of being part of the conspiracy in an unconstitutional trial. He was just performing his Hippocratic oath by treating John Wilkes Booth’s leg after he assassinated Lincoln. He had no idea what had happened that night. News didn’t travel as fast back then.

Leave a Reply

