And She’s Back


I am promising to get back in the swing of blogging here.  As summer is approaching (or really more or less already upon us since the Memorial Day weekend brought on the humidity), I need to up my workouts, share more recipes, enlist some new guest bloggers and much more!  I have some good excuses for why the blogging has taken a hit–I bought a condo!  So I’ve been super busy doing the homeowner thing.  My mom asked me a few weekends ago after I had a marathon day of weeding my garden (talk about muscles I did not know existed) if I was going to stop running now that I had new duties on my plate.  I told her, “I don’t think so…running is my sanity!”  And sure enough it really must be because even if I have lost my base mileage of however many miles I was up to and now feel that I can only put in 2-3 miles it still is a great stress reliever to me.

This past Sunday I ran the Teal Ribbon 5K to benefit the Ovarian Cancer Research Center Foundation, Inc. Two of my friends and I headed out early Sunday morning to drive over to Philadelphia.  Becky–who guest blogged on her first 5K with me last year–and I stuck together for the race and finished in 30:49.  Our friend Joe followed us not too far behind. It was a humid 70+ degree day and was a nice jaunt past the Please Touch Museum (which I vaguely remember going there for a field trip in elementary school) and looping around through a park and some streets.  The views of the city in the distance was a much different feeling from running the marathon in November.  The pool of runners was smaller, the crowds were lighter, but it was so nice to have company for a race!  And when I looked at the winners online today I realized that I could easily have been a top three finisher in my age group (second place for 30-39 year old females finished at 25:08, which is only a few seconds faster than I ran the Hot Chocolate Run in December).  But Sunday was not about winning, but about having some fun out running with friends and all in the name of fighting cancer.

Post-race!

You gotta love a race that gives out Philly soft pretzels!

Best buds outside the museum post-race

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

