Like Waiting For Santa Claus


Do you remember how you felt as a kid on Christmas Eve as you crawled into bed and knew that Santa was on his way to deliver lots of goodies and toys to your home?  Well I still get that feeling on Christmas Eve, but it’s the rest of the year that adulthood seems to seep in and it seems as if we start to lose that childish excitement about life’s simple treasures.  I have felt it the night before each marathon I’ve run, although that could be more nerves than anything else!  This morning though I felt it too, if only for a little while as the day of work since has drained me a bit.  

This morning, though, I woke up early with a little extra spring in my step.  As I was on my way to a 6 am spin class (my vote for one of the best ways to jumpstart the day), I heard an awesome Christian pop song on the radio that I’m trying to figure out who sings.  It really put me in an excellent mood and for the first time I was feeling completely stoked about the Cayman trip!  I took care of myself this week–exercised every day, got plenty of sleep, ate well, and fed myself spiritually.  The week before I was overprogrammed and stressed out so I made it a goal not to do that to myself on the days leading up to this trip.  Amazingly, I still managed to get much done.  I know this journey ahead is going to change me in ways I have yet to imagine!  My friends have sent really encouraging words (and some generous financial contributions) and for that I am so blessed. 

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

