Beautiful London Day


As I sit here listening to the music of the closing ceremonies (all things London, even the Spice Girls came out!) and watching the exuberance of the athletes–especially those with medals around their necks–I am a little sad that the Olympics have come to an end.  But that’s how it always is, until the next four years come around.  And really only two since the Winter Olympics are right around the corner.

I woke up this morning to see the completion of the men’s marathon.  Uganda’s Stephen Kiprotich prevailed as the victor (and giving his home country its first gold medal at the London Games and seventh Olympic medal in history).  Two Kenyans picked up silver and bronze and at 37 years of age, USA’s Meb Keflezighi came up smiling at fourth (he was the silver medalist in 2004).  And I’ll admit my heart pounded a little faster and it made me think about signing up for another marathon.  My dad who was visiting just gave me a look that said “you are nuts!”

Team USA topped the medal count making 2012 our country’s most successful road Olympics. Great Britain had its strongest showing ever and seven countries, including Grenada (track star Kirani James won gold) brought home medals for the first time.  It was a historical Olympics for Michael Phelps who became the most decorated Olympian.  And even triple-double winner, Usain Bolt, for all his ego and excessive celebrating (Bob Costas is quoted saying, “well, it’s hard to have a higher opinion of Usain Bolt than he does of himself, so there you go”), made for an entertaining Games. And then there were so many athletes, like Gabby Douglas, women’s all-around gymnast gold winner, who knew winning was so much more than her own doing (she gave the glory to God and the blessings were just showering down on her).

There were broken records, new firsts, tears of joy, high fives, graciousness, hugs, comraderie, thrills and so much more.  A huge congratulations to all the athletes for a job well done!

See you in 2016–Rio!  Who’s coming with me?

Top Countries: Final Medal Count

1. United States, 104 (46 gold, 29 silver, 29 bronze)

2. China, 87 (38, 27, 22)

3. Russia, 82 (24, 25, 33)

4. Great Britain, 65 (29, 17, 19)

5. Germany, 44 (11, 19, 14)

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

