Spin Start The Day


For months I’ve been waiting for Sculpt DC to open its doors in PennQuarter.  Monday was opening day for this unique, new spin/yoga studio.  I bought the opening month special of unlimited classes and figured I’d see how I like it before considering a membership.

Today’s class was before work, so an early rise it was this morning so that I could make it in to the city, but well worth the effort.  The setting had a clean and relaxed feel, almost like entering a spa.  Upon arrival, the women working the front desk directed me to the class downstairs.  There were lockers with locks (so convenient to not have to bring a lock) outside the workout rooms.  Enter the studio and there were a ton of bikes.  Only five of us were in this morning’s class but the room had 35 bikes, with room for a total of 50.  So plenty of space to not feel cramped.

The class today was Spin Fusion.  So for the first 30 minutes we focused on spinning and the last 30 we shifted to yoga.  So unlike other 1 hour spinning classes I typically take at the gym, this one focused a lot more on cycling through higher levels of intensity.  This way we would get a deeper, tougher leg workout in a shorter amount of time.

The instructor, Anita, was high energy and fun.  After some brief tips for the beginners we were off to the races.  Throughout the routine, lights changed the color of the wall behind her and the beat of the music kept me going even when I cranked the knob to a difficult level 10.

After 30 minutes we hopped off the bikes and shifted into the yoga studio down the hall.  The room was very relaxing with candles lit with a big Buddha sitting at the front.  I half expected a lot of ohmming and chanting–and was glad that didn’t happen. But it was a great 30 minus of yoga.   We focused on the traditional postures of Vinyasa yoga and then moved into a series of  other poses and balancing.  Despite having done a fair amount of yoga over the past two years or so, I learned a lot of new things in the class and many of the poses were extremely difficult.  The thing that was really amazing to see was how much tougher yoga is after a strenuous leg workout.  For some of the moves my legs were quivering and my one-legged balance efforts were shaky to say the least.

Working spin and yoga into one workout incorporates both a solid leg and upper body workout.  Even my abs got some training time towards the end of yoga.  My entire core was worked and as I noted in earlier blog posts, core work is of critical importance for a runner and for all of us, especially as we get older.

I’m excited to try out the other offerings of Sculpt DC and will add my opinions of those classes here as well.

Read yesterday’s Washington Post Express article, Take a Ride With a Twist, to learn more.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

