Country Retreat


Being a country girl at heart, I found it refreshing to get out of town last weekend for the backroads of Virginia.  Destination:  Madison, Virginia for a church retreat at a beautiful country farm house.  We had an awesome time of community building through fellowship and praise, eating and cooking delicious meals, pistol and clay pigeon shooting, hiking, making smores over an outdoor fire and stargazing (talk about the most amazing view of the sky at night that I have ever seen–and all the shooting stars to behold, magnificent!).

  

Late Saturday afternoon, two friends–David and Christy–joined me for a run along the gravel road that wound its way around the country neighborhood.  It was pretty hilly, but breathing in the fresh air and hearing little to no traffic, was a great change of pace from Northern Virginia running.

Along the way, we made a friend.  A cross-eyed dog named Henry.

  

He followed us for a while along the trail until he spotted something in the distance and took off like a lightning bolt to catch his prey. Under the fence he dove and raced into the field to got what we think was a groundhog.  It all happened in the blink of an eye and here’s the video to prove our reaction.

As we continued on our run I enjoyed the company of conversation and peaceful surroundings.  We saw Henry on our way back, still out in the field, enjoying some play with his half-alive little friend.  It was a sight to see!  Animal kingdom of Virginia.

     

Post-retreat, I had a great week.  Felt energized every day and inspired to be a better friend and person to all I encounter.  Coming off a bitter presidential election, I noticed how much the city can harden you to other people, and surrounding myself by other believers and getting back to my country roots helped to re-ground me a bit.

Today, I spent the afternoon again in the country in Warrenton, Virginia for a little winery tour so it was nice to see that one doesn’t need to go far from the city to find a little respite and peace to recharge the batteries!

 

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

