Blogging with Thanks


Happy Thanksgiving!  I have so much to be thankful for and in the midst of our busy lives it is sometimes easy to forget to take the time to count your blessings.  I jotted these quick, what I’m thankful for, items while riding the bus to work yesterday.  They don’t meet the breadth and depth of all the gratitude I have for the life I’m living, but will do for purposes of something short and sweet!

True Friends (those who stick by you through thick and thin, who you can pick up with despite months of not talking, who don’t hold grudges, don’t expect perfection, love you for you…can go on and on…)

Happy Memories (speaks for itself, but memories are so special; I especially love the ones where I just laugh on and on with family members when we reminisce about the good old days)

Anchored by my Faith (in a world filled with materialism and “me”, having a faith to keep me grounded has been an amazing experience that just gets better and better the more it grows)

Noble Deeds (hearing amazing stories about the good in this world always puts a smile on my face)

Keeping up with Friends & Family (echoes a lot of what was said above, these are the people who know me best and will always bring me back to my roots and help me to stay true to my colors)

Silliness (people take themselves too seriously, don’t ya think?  I love to laugh and find myself not doing it often enough…hmmm…)

Goals (sometimes goals drive me crazy, but they also are so rewarding when you see them come to fruition after putting in the sweat and tears)

Ice Cream & Sweets (need I say more!)

Vacation and Travel (the experience of visiting new places and recharging the batteries…I’ve learned a lot about myself from traveling both with others and on my own)

Insurance (it’s all that came to mind, so I guess that’s part of being grown up)

kNickKnacks (I’m a sucker for useless trinkets and may need a bigger home)

Gift of Life (well yeah, live it well and know there is another awesome place waiting in the end!)

So on this day, I encourage everyone to slow down (unless you are running a turkey trot!), enjoy the company of those you are spending the holiday with and of course stuff yourselves silly!  Happy Thanksgiving!!

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

