Poetry in Motion


My friend, Autumn, is today’s guest blogger. She is an amazing mom, wife, teacher and fellow blogger!  So I was so excited when she offered to guest blog on my site!  I know you will appreciate her fresh take and creativity on running…

Guest Blogger: Autumn Yates

When my dear friend Sallyann put out a request for guest bloggers to write for her fabulous blog, it seemed like a no brainer to me. After all, I like to run and I like to blog, so how hard could it be? Here’s the problem: I wasn’t sure how to capture the spirit of running in a haiku. That’s right, I said haiku. You see, my blog – which chronicles my daily life – is written only in haiku form.

For those of you who may not remember that eighth grade Language Arts lesson, a haiku is a three lined un-rhyming poem of Japanese origin. The first line has five syllables, the second has seven syllables, and the third has five. Typically no punctuation is used, but I occasionally break that rule for the sake of clarity or tone.

Anyway, back to the task at hand. First I thought that my running haiku should highlight some of the characteristics and quirks of winter running. This is what I came up with:

A man runs past me
I feel a pang of envy
His tights are cuter

Ah, the odd reality of the winter running wardrobe. But lest I became overwhelmed by the spandex, I changed my train of thought to the fellow Mommies of the running world. Many of them – myself included – balance a full-time job and rambunctious children with the understandable desire to do something good for our bodies and our sanity. This is even harder to accomplish in the winter, when colder weather and shorter days make running seem like a distant dream. To those moms who still manage to take their jogging strollers out for a spin, I salute you:

Such precious cargo
Bundled up from head to toe
Push me faster, Mom!

While I definitely enjoy a good workout with my tiny daughter along for the ride, for me, running is more than just exercise. It’s a way to clear my mind and make me feel better about myself. As difficult as it can be to drag my body out into the cold, there’s something special about jogging through the peaceful winter air. In addition, I’m also far more comfortable running in 30 degree weather than its 90-100 degree summer counterpart. I think the approaching season merits the following haiku, which captures what I hope to experience more than once in the coming months:

Not a soul in sight
Crisp white snow softens my pace
The road is all mine

Yep, I think that about sums up how I feel about running in the winter. If you’ve developed a haiku addiction as a result of reading this post, feel free to read more on http://www.lifeinthreelines.blogspot.com. Happy trails (or sidewalks, or treadmills) to you!

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

