Move Over Muscle Head


Ok, ladies, I know that lifting weights may sound like a boring time to you, or you might be intimidated by Mr. Muscle Head who is grunting on that side of the gym, but there is no excuse.  Lifting weights is the only way to truly change your body.  And as each year goes by, now is the time to ensure that we do not lose bone density.  This is especially important for petite and small-framed women, like myself, who have a higher propensity for osteoporosis.  Aren’t genetics wonderful? 

Cardio is important for your heart and yes, we as runners love the feeling that a good run can have on the body.  However, I know that cardio is not the end all be all to my workouts.   Being consistent with weight training helps to improve my runs, makes my body feel complete and well-rounded, tightens the problem areas, cuts the fat,  increases the muscle, and overall tells people “yeah, I’m kick ass…that’s right.” 

But really in all seriousness, you have to make weight lifting a habit and even as I write this I’m trying to decide whether I have time to fit in a workout of such tomorrow.  It requires a little more planning and learning how to target different muscle groups.  I am by no means perfect at this part of my workout routine. But I know how important it is to my overall health and strength.

So don’t be afraid of joining the men on that side of the gym.  Your body will thank you.

 

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

