Why Read Blogs?


Before I created my own blog I wasn’t much of a blog reader.  I’d stumble across a blog here or there but didn’t subscribe to any or actively keep up with any one in particular.  But following other blogs provides fresh ideas for my own site and opens my eyes to new perspectives.  I’ll admit, the most interesting blog sites are of those authors I know!  And that makes sense.  It’s nice to be able to keep up with other people’s lives even when you don’t see them very often.  I subscribe to a few and find myself reading updates via my iPhone while commuting home.  I visit some blogs for specific reasons–to find a recipe, to catch up on photos of my friends’ kids, to look at how people are laying out their pages, to track issues related to my job, etc.  And I’m starting to pay more attention to what’s on other fitness-related blogs as well.  In fact, I’m really excited to browse Shape’s Best Blogger Awards: The Top 20 Blogs for Fitness Junkies.  After all, those folks could land in one of two categories—competition for readers or fellow comrades pushing the fitness craze!  I’m sure I can learn something from them.

For a long time, I’ve been meaning to add a blog roll to my page which provides links to my favorite bloggers’ pages.  So that’s on the to-do list for 2013.

So why read blogs?  They are fun and a lot different than your typical news journalism sources.  Blogs are written in one’s own voice which can be influential and powerful in its own right.  And everyone has a story to tell; this is just one vehicle for sharing ours.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

