Waking Up Before The Sun


Is waking up at 5 am your idea of a good time?  Yeah, me neither.  But somehow I’ve decided to subject myself to that for the next two weeks.  I took the plunge and signed up for Seal Team PT’s Basic Two Week Fitness Class.  Back in September I went with my friend Nicole to Bring a Buddy Day when she was doing her basic course.  She guest blogged on my site about her experience and ever since I’ve been toying with the idea of joining too. This means two weeks of only missing one workout which then grants you the honor (and some bragging rights) of joining the group for workouts down the road.

So what do you know within that time, I quit my gym membership of nearly five years and signed up for something different.  Nowadays it seems that the new fad to working out is to join a community.  CrossFit…TeamInTraining…group exercise classes at the gym…you name it.  There is something out there to help each and every one of us reach our fitness goals.  And for some of us that involves a 5:45 am workout. 

After a full night’s rest, I made it to my first class on time, only to find that I was the only newbie (there may be some joining tomorrow).  But there were plenty of other seasoned folks out there to teach me the ropes and a few crazy ones, like Nicole, who are committing themselves to the 90-Day Challenge.  Just what it sounds like–90 consecutive days of workouts!  Whew. 

Today’s first class was “test” day which simply meant that this was the day to capture my baseline.  Here are my stats:  35 pushups + 10 girly pushups in 2 minutes; 74 situps in 2 minutes; 1.5 mile run completed in 13:31 (9:01 pace/mile).  I’ll admit, since I’ve been battling a cold this last week and a half and had the previous knowledge of how sore I could be the next day (from my September outing with the group), I was a little less overeager to come out of the gate on Day 1 like Superwoman!  Don’t get me wrong, I pushed myself but I also have no doubt I can improve upon all of these areas within two weeks.  After the tests, we did a lot of other team activities and relays and I even botched a head count that ended up costing the group 20 extra pushups.  Blame it on the newbie for not knowing the rules. 

Waking up at 5 am though is tough on the work day, well any day for that matter.  I hit a slump at 1:30 pm and that is way too early for feeling like you need a nap!  But tomorrow is a new day and I’m excited to see what’s in store.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Waking Up Before The Sun

  1. Beth says:

    I’m sure Nicole will help you along, but here are a few tips on getting through your two week basic fitness class: go bed absolutely no later than 10pm, stretch after class, drink lots of water, eat a hearty breakfast, and get up and move around while you’re at work. Five am comes gruesomely early, but after the first week, it’s a lot easier to get up. Just like learning any new routine, it takes a little while to get used to, but you’ll find that class is the best part of your day and absolutely worth getting up for. See you tomorrow!

  2. great job – you will be a superstar at bootcamp!

Leave a Reply

