All Over The Map


This last week in January has been a busy one–a lot of accomplishments (including a few challenges) at work, reaching my one-year mark in the job and a lot of running about in other ways.  Amid the strange weather in DC (ranging from snowy conditions in the 20’s all the way up to the 70’s) it has felt like a curiously strange week.  A lot of friends were in need of prayer and a listening ear.  Thank goodness for the faith growing in me and my drive to keep up my exercise routine! Without them I probably would not be able to juggle so many responsibilities.  Needless to say, this week I’ve been counting my blessings.

I made an appearance back at Boot Camp this week and was welcomed with open arms. Tuesday was in the high 40’s and mild and Friday it was back in the 20’s and snowing.  We did a lot of shuffllin’ exercises (the theme of our day) to mix it up on Friday, including a five or so person bear crawl, which was a massive failure.  (Think of a giant human caterpillar trying to crawl. Well we all came tumbling down.)

Tuesday at the Washington Monument on a rare mild winter's morning, post-boot camp.  I am excited because mornings are getting a little bit lighter out!

Tuesday at the Washington Monument on a rare mild winter’s morning, post-boot camp. I am excited because mornings are getting a little bit lighter out!

I’ve also been teaching myself some new exercises with the kettleballs, as I’ve mentioned before, and it’s been fun.  I can feel my efforts so much more than just using the normal free weights.  I never actually mapped out a training plan for my 10 mile races coming up, so I’m going to kind of “wing-it” and just make sure I get a few long runs in leading up to the race.  We’ll see how this idea goes!

Next week is the Cupid Single Sprint…a 2-mile race (wow, I wonder if I will finish?! :-)).  I went to race pickup with my friend this morning and we hung out and mingled with some folks for a little bit over a cup of Chai latte.  It was fun to meet some people and just be social for a bit.  Now I need to decide if I actually will create a costume for the race!  Hmmm…what do you think of dressing up as Cupid with a bow and arrow slung over the shoulder?  Or maybe in honor of Valentine’s I will just wear my usual pink runner’s top.

Happy February!

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

