30 Before 30 (A December Race Recap, Life Celebrations & A Valentine’s Race)


Guest Blogger:  Brandon Boucher

Hello all, I’m back!  First I must apologize.  I ran the Jingle all the Way 8K in December last year…. And I didn’t blog about it!  A lot was going on, I was preparing for a wedding and I just lost track of time.  From what I remember, there was running, a guy juggling while running past me, being cold as I ran past the mile four mark and wondering why I wasn’t finished.  Low and behold an 8K is 5 Milers; well now I know. 

So, anyway a lot has happened between last December and now.  As I mentioned, I was married to Jessica Butchko on Dec 22, 2012 in Albuquerque, New Mexico.  After a short stay for the holidays, we were off to the Caribbean for a seven day cruise.  We spent New Year’s Eve in the middle of the Caribbean Sea and had a wonderful time!  January was uneventful, I am resuming classes at George Mason University and started running again as the weather is starting to improve. 

Soooo now on to the first race of 2013!  Jessica and I did the Love The One You’re With 5K in Pentagon City.  It was kind of cold waiting for the start and after a short warm up we ducked in to a VIP only section for the event, otherwise known as the Pacers store at Pentagon Row.  As time was winding down, Jessica and I went to the start.  As we were lining up, Alf from the TV show walks up and lines up in front of me.  We receive our final instructions and a way we go.  The course is a rolling hill out and back.  On the way out one of my co-workers, Kate, run past me and says that “she going to beat me.”  I chuckle and just then a very large man drops something and stops in the middle of the field, right in front of Kate.  She has to stop dead in her tracks and I have to do a hurdle to avoid hitting him.  I never saw Kate again.  The first hill comes right at a quarter mile, and it was a little bit of a doosie.  It was cold and I had not really warmed up.  After I crest the hill, I started on some downhill rollers until the turn around.  The weather was nice but a little chilly.  I had on a pair of tights, long sleeve base layer and thin Nike half zip that was very comfy to run in.  Mile one comes up and I ran a 7:15. I continued on to the turn around and start my way back.  The rollers downhill now are rollers up hill.  Yay!! On the way back I see Jessica and my co-workers.  I run past the two mile mark but I didn’t take a look at my watch.  I started to speed up on the last mile.  I felt really good.  I ran down the last hill and rounded the last corner and the finish was not far.  I came across at 21:53. My splits for this race showed that I ran a 7:15, 7:05, and 6:45.  I grabbed a banana and water and started running back the course to meet up with Jessica.   I ran with her for the last three quarters of a mile.  We were able to grab a photo of us running.  She crossed the line just under 40 minutes. 

My next race—this weekend—is the George Washington Birthday 10K here in Alexandria, Virginia.  Until then…

 

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

