Lenten Photo Challenge: Day 1


Running to me used to just be about getting the job done–a means to an end, a part of my sports growing up, staying fit and building self-confidence.  But it’s interesting because as I have grown in my Christian faith, I have also realized that running has spiritual meaning too.  Long runs on my own are the time where I best sort through life’s challenges and witness God’s glory in nature.  When I’m out running with friends, exercise is where we all let down our guard and are at once free to be who we are, no matter what skill level.

The Bible uses many quotes that pertain to “running the race”.  For example, 1 Corinthians 9:24-27 says, Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.

As the Lenten season has arrived, I am going to help drive this home a bit more through RethinkChurch.org’s Lenten Photo a Day challenge.  This is a bit uncoventional from “giving something up” so that we might better understand what Christ experienced during His 40 days journey in the desert.  And although I’m not quite sure where these images will strike, I hope that I can spend these next 40 days disciplined with a bit more awareness of my surroundings.  This will be a time for introspection, sharing and more clearly appreciating Easter.

So here goes nothing–an opportunity to grow my faith in a new way.  What will you do this season?

Today's theme most likely meant I was supposed to find a photo that summed up who I am as a person, but I took another take.  I was already in the Valentine's Day spirit so hearts were on my mind.  And I found that Jesus embodies all these things to me--Love, Hope, Peace, Freedom, Joy.

WHO AM I?  Today’s theme most likely meant I was supposed to find a photo that summed up who I am as a person, but I took another take. I was already in the Valentine’s Day spirit so hearts were on my mind. And I found that Jesus embodies all these things to me–Love, Hope, Peace, Freedom, Joy.

 

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

