Lenten Photo Challenge: Day 5


Lent Photo Day 5 Settle

SETTLE: Today’s photo challenge word made me think of how we easy it is to settle for so much in life. We settle for the easy way out of tough situations. We settle by talking about how difficult something is rather than seeking some answers for making it better. We settle for staying in a relationship because we are fearful of the unknown. We settle for doing the bare minimum, rather than putting some sweat behind the work. We settle by not challenging ourselves to be better, not only to ourselves but to our family, friends, neighbors and complete strangers. We settle by keeping quiet about our faith. And while that single word gave me time for a lot of thinking, I had no idea how to capture the word in a photo. So I snapped this shot from my couch as the late afternoon sun was drifting through the blinds. Settle also means “to make quiet and orderly” and that thought gave me some peacefulness in the moment. We can settle this battle now and proclaim that we don’t need to be a settling society anymore.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

