Lenten Photo Challenge: Day 6-12


So I’ll admit, I kind of dropped the ball on the Lenten Photo Challenge.  This is so much more difficult than I expected.  I guess if it was easy, though, it would not be much a challenge.  I’m also having a bit of trouble making this challenge fit with the theme of my blog of “running” and all things fitness-related.  So I slowed down this week.  But this challenge is here to make me more aware and purposeful in my life which in turn should bring me closer to Christ.  And that will make everything in life, including my blog, that much stronger.  It’s hard to do that amidst all of life’s to-do’s.  But all is not lost, I’m going to work on being intentional, snap a photo when I can, and if no photo speaks to me I’ll still share a few of my thoughts.  Here’s my catch-up:

WORLD: The newspapers outside the Newseum seemed to be one way to capture the world.

WORLD: The newspapers outside the Newseum seemed to be one way to capture the world.

WORLD:  But then I was in the National Gallery in DC that afternoon and came across what one might name the Bible exhibit.  Here one will see images of Mary, Jesus, the Disciples, saints and more.  Usually I don't like this room.  I admit, it's just not my "style" of art, but I stopped for a moment.  As we are in the season of Lent, seeing this painting seemed to make my photo of the newspapers pale in comparison.  John 3:16: "For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Hinm should not perish but have everlasting life."

WORLD: But then I was in the National Gallery in DC that afternoon and came across what one might name the Bible exhibit. Here one will find  images of Mary, Jesus, the Disciples, saints and more. Usually I don’t like this room. I admit, it’s just not my “style” of art, but I stopped for a moment. As we are in the season of Lent, seeing this painting seemed to make my photo of the newspapers pale in comparison. John 3:16: “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.”

WONDER:  This was really difficult for me to capture.  It's a word that I think of more as an action--something that happens in a moment!  A mother gazing at her child or a groom seeing his bride in that first split second walking down the aisle.  I'm sure I had an expression of wonder after I finished my first marathon.  They say a "picture is a thousand words" but I'd have to say a "memory is a million." So for me finding a photo to match this word just wasn't happening.  So I turned to my Bible's concordance and pulled this verse: Isaiah 29:14: "Therefore, behold, I will again do a marvelous work Among this people, A marvelous work and a wonder; For the wisdom of their wise men shall perish, And the understanding of the prudent men shall be hidden."

WONDER: This was really difficult for me to capture. It’s a word that I think of as more of an action–something that happens in a moment! A mother gazing at her child or a groom seeing his bride in that first split second walking down the aisle. I’m sure I had an expression of wonder after I finished my first marathon. They say a “picture is worth a thousand words” but I’d have to say a “memory is priceless.” So for me finding a photo to match this word just wasn’t happening. So I turned to my Bible’s concordance and pulled this verse: Isaiah 29:14: “Therefore, behold, I will again do a marvelous work Among this people, A marvelous work and a wonder; For the wisdom of their wise men shall perish, And the understanding of the prudent men shall be hidden.”

EVIL.  First all the dictators from history came to mind.  Then the Devil (and images of fire and brimstone) and his pervasiveness throughout society, always trying to push down the good efforts that we bring to the table and supplant them with doubt, hurt, lethargy, duplicitousness and so much more. Seeking out a photo to describe evil was not something I was too excited about, so instead I focused on the good things in life.  It’s important to understand the hatred that we face in this world and to find ways to persevere with our faith and love for one another.

LOVE.  Just think about it for yourself…

SPIRIT.  Yesterday I took the kids I tutor ice skating (next post coming up on that).  And while I snapped some fun photos of our outing, the videos I took captured the spirit of these children.  I was smiling so much while out there and I think it’s important for us to be spirited in our life and in turn to live our lives accordingly to the ways of the Holy Spirit…it’s not an easy task.

LIVE. It’s everything. Do it with purpose.

VISION: I just snapped this photo out my back door.  The sun is bright and glorious today.  Vision is not just about what we see in front of us, but it's also about how we put a goal into action and stay focused on what's important to our lives.

VISION: I just snapped this photo out my back door. The sun is bright and glorious today. Vision is not just about what we see in front of us, but it’s also about how we put a goal into action and stay focused on what’s important to our lives.

About mileoneandcounting

I'm a young professional living in the Washington, DC area. Since moving here in 2007 I have honed a passion for running and fitness. Growing up I played soccer and softball (and tested track & field for one year). After college I ran a few 5K races, but running was really only a means to staying in shape for me. Never in my wildest imagination had I thought I'd ever run a marathon, let alone three. Nor did I think I'd get the running bug after doing so, but I'll admit I'm hooked! Over the years my blog has grown into so much more than a running blog though. Sometimes I have deep thoughts. Other times I'm simply sharing a training story or a review of a product. Here's the place where you'll learn about me through my many adventures--even I enjoy going back to re-read some posts from time to time. I've also been able to hone my love for health and wellness through my business called IDLife which stands for Individually Designed Life. I'd love to help inspire you to live your best life yet so please don't hesitate to reach out to me and may my words resonate with you. See you on the trails...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

